Congratulations to Professor Samantha Thomas, who has been appointed Editor in Chief of Health Promotion International!

New funding

Alison Hutchinson and her team have been awarded a Cooperative Research Centres Projects (CRC-P) grant to work with A2I2 and HomeGuardian AI to develop an AI model that identifies indicators that occur prior to a fall, allowing carers to take preventative actions to reduce the likelihood of a fall. Ali and her team will evaluate the acceptability and feasibility of use of the model by care providers.

Matt Dunn, Kathryn Backholer, Jennifer Browne, Peter Miller, Mark Lock, Florentine Martino were successful with a VicHealth Alcohol Policy and Practice Commissioned Research Request for Tender, Exploring young people’s participation with alcohol marketing and user-generated promotions in Victoria.

Cat 1 Seed Funding Grant Outcomes

Congratulations to all those who submitted IHT Cat1 Seed Funding Grant applications. Proposals received were of very high quality, a testament to the calibre of applicants and their research teams.

The successful recipients were:

  • Ben Wood, Kate Sievert, Sven Gallasch and Gary Sacks for their Competition Law Health
  • Christina Zorbas, Laura Alston and Adyya Gupta for their Food Price Dashboard
  • Cindy Needham, Christina Zorbas, Laura Alston and Sachin Wasnik for their Food retail environments in the 21st century: How is online food delivery contributing to inequities
  • Elizabeth Homes-Truscott, Virginia Hagger, Eloise Litterbach, Jane Speight, Timothy Skinner and Renza Scibilia for their Diabetes mass-media campaigns: are we doing more harm than good?
  • Eva Yuen, Alison Hutchinson, Elaine Wittenberg, Joy Goldsmith, Trish Livingston, Carlene Wilson and Vicki McLeod for their Carer Communication
  • Kim Robinson, Louisa Smith, Jo Watson, Fiona McKay and Angela Dew for their Precarious housing outcomes for women and children from refugee backgrounds with disability who have experienced domestic and family violence
  • Olumuyiwa Omonaiye, Elizabeth Homes-Truscott, Alemayehu Mekonnen, Kevin Mc Namara, Julie Considine, Elizabeth Manias, Bodil Rasmussen and Chris Gilfillan for their Evaluating diabetes medication-taking among Australian adults with type 2 diabetes of Chinese heritage
  • Peter Lee, Lan Gao, Sean Randell, Dieu Nguyen and Suzanne Robinson for their Exploring trends in potentially preventable hospitalisations for coronary heart disease in Australia 

Phuong Nguyen, Jennifer Browne, Troy Walker and Jaithri Ananthapavan for their Building an economic model for Indigenous populations project.