All members day

Thank you to all members who attended our first face to face All Members Day in 3 years!  It was so lovely to see everyone and the energy in the room was palpable!

Special thanks to all our presenters. The agenda was a bumper one so in case you missed anything, all the presentations are available on the Members Portal.

Group photos will be distributed to domains and individual headshots will be made available as soon as they arrive from the photographer.

Look forward to seeing you again at our next All Members Day on Tuesday 6 December. Stay tuned for more details about this in the next newsletter.

Report on suicide rates among construction workers

L-R: Chris Lockwood, CEO of MATES in Construction; Tony LaMontagne; Maggie Pearce, workplace volunteer in MATES program; Dave Mier, MATES Board Member, Electrical Trades Union

Tony LaMontagne was at Parliament House in Canberra on 8 September for RUOK and “Fly the Flag” for construction worker suicide prevention day with MATES in Construction, workplace suicide prevention charity).  He was there to launch a report on falling suicide rates among workers in the building and construction industry. The report shows a steady decline in suicide rates among construction workers, as well as greater rate of decline compared to the overall working population rate. This very positive news comes against a backdrop of rising suicide rates in the general male population over the last 10 years.  

ACM conference 2022

More than 500 delegates meet in the Cairns Conference Centre for the Australian College of Midwives conference. IHT was well represented, with Linda Sweet presenting two oral papers, one poster and one workshop. She also co-authored oral presentations with three Deakin PhD students and four with midwifery colleagues across Australia. Vidanka Vasilevski presented two oral presentations and was a co-author on five oral presentations and one poster. Vanessa Watkins gave three oral presentations and co-authored one poster. Two additional posters were displayed from research done by IHT’s Karen Wynter and Sara Holton. All of the Deakin presentations were well received, and it was a great networking opportunity. Linda Sweet received life membership at the gala dinner.

Healing Health – new episodes out now

September was the release of two new episodes of IHT’s podcast, Healing Health.

Bridging science and community during the COVID-19 pandemic features Alfred Deakin Professor Catherine Bennett and Associate Professor Hassan Vally in a discussion about science communication and social media during the pandemic.

Unmasking healthcare workers’ experiences during the COVID-19 pandemic sees Professor Linda Sweet and Dr Sara Holton share their research on the health of our healthcare workforce. Encourage everyone to listen to these and past episodes, which showcase the breadth and depth of our work. Healing Health is available on the IHT website, or via your favourite podcasting app.

Building an economic model to assess alcohol interventions

Jaithri Ananthapavan, Pam Nguyen, Moosa Al Subhi and Natasha Hall have commenced a new project with The Prevention Centre. The project will see the team build an epidemiological and economic model to predict the health and economic impact of several strategies and scenarios to reduce alcohol consumption in Australia.

Out in the OPEN: trialing open-source automated insulin delivery in type 1 diabetes

As open-source artificial pancreas systems gain traction, Amelia Lake presents the first multi-centre trial published in New England Journal of Medicine.

Magda’s Big National Health Check

We can’t wait to see our colleagues, Steve Allender, Kathryn Backholer, Gary Sacks and Christina Zorbas appear in Magda’s Big National Health Check, airing on ABC TV and iView on 1 November.

In the meantime, watch the trailer on YouTube.


  • Angela Dew, Kelli Nicola-Richmond and Jo Watson, who have been elected to represent the School of Health and Social Development on the Health Faculty Board for a three-year term from 1 January 2023, and Kate Morrissy has been elected as the Professional staff representative;
  • Amie O’Shea, on becoming a Fellow of the Higher Education Academy;
  • Kathryn Backholer, for becoming Fellow of the Public Health Association of Australia and a Heart Foundation Future Leader Fellow (her third-consecutive Future Leader fellowship!);
  • Lan Gao, who was elected Treasurer of the Australian Health Economics Society; and
  • Linda Sweet, who received a lifetime membership to the Australian College of Midwives